The magic of music.

‘Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent’ -Victor Hugo.

Music is passion, it is anger, it is love, it is fear, it is everything. Personally I don’t think that I’d be able to cope if I wasn’t able to seclude myself from the world from time to time by sitting down and soaking in a bit of music. Whether it be touching lyrics, a rockin’ beat, screaming like nobody’s around or just plain cheery, cheezy music like theย phenomenonย that is ‘Gangnam Style’ all music has a place in my heart and no matter what mood I’m in there is always something to suit. Fights with my friends or family – maybe a bit of Greenday or MCR. Wanting to dance like I have no bones in my body – bit of Britney will do the trick. Wallowing in self-pity – perhaps some Adele or Birdy. And my favourite, bringing out my inner diva and fiercing it up – the one and only Beyoncรฉ!

Although I hold all styles of music dear what I find perturbing is how fickle one is to the music genres all depending on what ‘phase’ of music you are going through. Personally, I’ve always been pretty much a pop or RnB kind of guy, but this changes every now and again. Examples of this would be when I was about 16 and went through my angry rock phase and last year when I went through my musical ‘hipster’ phase and found artists such as Lana del Rey, Kimbra and Lykke Li before most people had even heard of them. What I find even funnier is the musical arrogance that one gets when going through these phases – “You’re listening to Britney and Rihanna??? PLEASE! That is such nonsensical, generic crap which is just thrown out there to make money,” just to return to shakin’ it like there’s no tomorrow to songs like Dirrty by Christina Aguilera (I literally HAVE to link that song in – it be my jam!). I will admit though, there is a sense of pride when an artist becomes huge and you had found them a year before anyone else had even heard of them ๐Ÿ˜›

Another thing which annoys me a little about music is the industry. If you are talented, you are talented. You shouldn’t have a better chance of making it purely because you’re a treat to the eyes and as Adele said (Don’t get me wrong, I personally think that she’s beautiful) ‘I don’t make music for eyes. I make music for ears.’

I also love how artists can change and grow. For example, I used to hate all of Taylor Swift’s music. It just never did anything for me, but now I love pretty much every one of her new tracks! Particularly her newest ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’. That’s actually the song that inspired me to write this post, as I was sitting in my kitchen, chillaxing whilst watching it on youtube, singing it to myself and thinking, “Yes, yes Taylor. You tell him, I agree!” So to thank Taylor for her inspiration I’m going to love you and leave you with a link to my current obsession:

Enjoy!

Ciao,

Padraig ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

