I don’t know where I’m going, but I’m on my way.

Image

The time has come where I can no longer relish in the safety of ‘studying’ for exams, ask my parents for a bit of cash to keep me going or piss away my days refreshing tumblr for hours because I, Pádraig Power, am now finished with my undergraduate degree. Yes, you read that right, 4 years of lazing around, pretending that I studied, or actually enjoyed doing my course,

have now come to an end. It is time for me to face the big, bad world and I have no idea what I’m doing. OK, I haven’t started out too badly. I mean I have a job in a restaurant, a house for the summer and lovely flatmates, but that doesn’t really constitute as knowing what to do. Why get a college degree to be a waiter?

It’s not all that bad though, luckily I have options. Currently I am awaiting responses for postgraduate degrees which I have applied for. Although, in saying that, I don’t even know 100% which I want to do! Every decision at this moment is paramount, or at least it seems that way. What if I choose a postgrad and don’t like it? Will I have just wasted another year of my life and a lot of money along with it? What if I do like what I choose, but suffer from the famous ‘Road Not Taken’ syndrome? All of these questions are things that I do not have time for. As the title of this post suggests, I don’t know what I’m doing, but I will get there. Life has been kind to me so far, but now it’s time for me to do things for me. I’m going to make decisions and even if I regret them later in life screw it! You only live life once and I’m not going to live it being afraid of choice, I’m going to stupidly throw myself head first into situations and life paths and it’s going to either be sink or swim. If I swim beautiful, if I sink then I guess that that just wasn’t the path for me. All I need to trust in is me and in life in general. It’s worked so far. Right now I’m a 21 year old with an honours degree, a wonderful person that I’m sharing my life with and the most amazing friends that one could ask for. Life could definitely be worse.

As for this post I guess it doesn’t really tell you anything, but it definitely has made my mind a little clearer so thanks for being here with me and I’ll make sure to bring you guys with me on my journey to success or failure. Either way it will surely be an interesting ride.

OK, I’m off to take a roll of the dice. Just remember: Image

Ciao for now,

Pádraig 😉

Leave a Reply

