10 Best Looks of 2014 – Landofpod

What better way to kick off the New Year than by reminiscing upon the triumphs of the last? 2014 has been an amazing year for me, both personally and professionally, but more importantly, it has been an even better year for fashion. Looking back at the year, I hadn’t realised just how many outstanding looks there had been and although a tough task, I’ve manage to find my top 10 looks, which I have blogged about throughout the fashion frenzy that was 2014. So, have a gander through and see my top picks, and remember – if there are any looks which haven’t made it make sure to let me know – I might not have even seen them!

P.s. These are in no particular order – it was tough enough to dwindle it down to 10, nevermind rank them even further.

Let’s begin with one of the best – Blake Lively and Ryan Gosling at the 2014 Met Gala. There’s nothing to say but, “J’adore!” This is how every person on the entire planet wants to look one day.

1174901_240445509489547_2098013729127782083_n

Another person who stole the spotlight for me at the Met Gala was Emma Stone. She wasn’t the top of everyone’s best dressed lists, but I fell in love with this gorgeous, pink ensemble and as I’ve posted about on https://www.facebook.com/landofpod I am loving the side-braid at the moment.

10171000_241739339360164_2823323278138376247_n

Next on my list I have a very chic, very sexy, yet quirky look from Jill Stewart‘s collection. I just love the juxtaposition of the grunge styling and the perfect symmetry of the pieces and if I was a girl, this would definitely be the way that I’d like to dress!

jill-stuart-spring-2014-campaign2

Following up, we have a completely different aesthetic with Amal Almuddin gaining worldwide style attention in this stunning pant and top ensemble which she wore to her civil ceremony with George Clooney. This is the epitome of chic, style and class and I don’t think that there has ever been a more perfectly put together outfit.

533905750

10380753_798349896874086_3507133617202786409_n

Going to another runway show, this Monique Lhuillier dress just caught my eye. I don’t know why, but the combination of the model and the dress just draw my attention and even when I saw looks that I almost preferred, this one still won every time. The almost ice-skater-esque dress is beautiful, flirty and pretty whilst maintaining its class. Basically, it’s pretty, it’s stylish and I like it 😛

monique-lhuillier-autumn-fall-winter-2014-nyfw321

Without a doubt, Lupita Nyong’o stole the show at the 2014 Oscars is her mesmerizing Cinderella inspired gown. The deep plunge, the volume of the skirt, the Nairobi blue colour and the perfect head-band all add up to not only making this the fashion focus of the 2014 Oscars, but, in my opinion, also making it one of the most iconic Oscar looks in recent history.

slide_339572_3484632_free2

slide_339572_3484629_free

slide_339572_3484639_free

2 more slightly grungy looks which I adore belong to Emma Watson and Margot Robbie. Again, although not a look that was loved by everyone, Emma’s 2014 Oscars Vera Wang dress, punk accessories and red lip made me fall in love with her all over again. Personally, I love the direction in which Emma has taken her style and I think that this depart into the grunge world suits her to the tee. Also, she’s always going to look poised and elegant in everything that she wears – she just oozes class.

emma-roberts_glamour_2mar14_getty_b_592x888

Also going down a darker route is Margot in this white and black gown. The black sparkled cut-out on the side along with the smokey eyes and sultry hair all add to Margot being a complete sexpot at the The Wolf of Wallstreet premiere. I defy anyone to try and outdo Margot for sex appeal here.

e7cbad83ccea46f7_margot-robbie-armani-preview

The 2nd last look of the post is this ethereal strapless gown by Elie Saab. I spotted this back in February and automatically fell in love. Fell hard in love. This whimsical nature that this dress emits is stunning and the structured, latticed bodice just adds to it all perfectly. What I love even more about this dress is that when I saw it I said that it would be worn by a young starlet as it is just so beautiful and a mere few months later Lily Collins stole the show in it.

yvl_5147-450x6753

9442_302377799962984_7812622699239061008_n

The final female who rose to the occassion for me in this year’s fashion stakes is Sarah Hyland. Sarah is a 100% winner for me in this crop top and skirt combo which she wore to the 2014 Emmys. The crisp white and bold orange look beautiful and chic together and then her nude make-up and big top-knot finish it off to perfection. Look at the beauty here:

slide_364103_4118715_compressed

sarah-hyland-2014-emmy-awards-bun-hair-makeup-w540

So there you have it, my 100% top 10 picks of the 2014 fashion world! Please let me know what you think and tell me if there’s anyone else who should’ve made the cut.

Also, the new red carpet season is just around the corner so to keep up-to-date with the fashion of every award show make sure to follow Landofpod and to like my facebook page.

Thanks for reading guys 😉

Author: Pádraig Power.

Leave a Reply

